



## **LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE**67th Montana Legislature

#### SENATE MEMBERS

Janet Ellis Tom Jacobson Bob Keenan Ryan Lynch Ryan Osmundson Daniel Salomon

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

Dan Bartel
David Bedey
Mary Caferro
Frank Garner
Jim Hamilton
Kenneth Holmlund
Llew Jones
Jim Keane
Emma Kerr-Carpenter
Bill Mercer
Sharon Stewart Peregoy
Jonathan Windy Boy

#### **COMMITTEE STAFF**

Amy Carlson - Legislative Fiscal Analyst Julie Johnson - Attorney Kathy Sangray - Secretary

## **MINUTES LOG**

July 01, 2021 Zoom Helena, Montana

Please note: This document is a Minutes Log and provides annotation of the time elapsed between the beginning of the meeting and the time at which the item was presented or discussed, a motion was made, or a vote was taken. The narrative presented here is provided only as a guide to the audio or video recording of the meeting. The official discussion, motion, or vote is available on the audio or video archive of this meeting. The Legislature does not prepare a transcript of the meeting activities. The time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at <a href="https://leg.mt.gov">https://leg.mt.gov</a>. From the home page, select the "Committees" drop down menu at the top, then select Administrative or Interim, and the appropriate committee. The written minutes log can be located by expanding the accordion menu for the date of the meeting. Links to the audio/video files can be located by selecting the Video/Audio button on the same page, then the "past/current recordings" button. From there, use the calendar to select the date of the meeting you wish to view/listen to. The written Minutes Log, along with links to the audio and video recordings, is listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page. Each of the Exhibits is linked and can be viewed by clicking on the Exhibit of interest. All Exhibits are public information and may be printed. Please contact the Legislative Services Division at 406-444-3064 for more information.

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Sen. Ryan Osmundson, Chair (R)

Rep. Dan Bartel (R)

Rep. David Bedey (R)

Sen. Janel Ellis (D)

Rep. Frank Garner (R)

Rep. Jim Hamilton (D)

Rep. Llew Jones (R)

Sen. Bob Keenan (R)

Sen. Ryan Lynch (D)

Rep. Bill Mercer (R)

Sen. Daniel Salomon (R)

Rep. Mary Caferro (D)

#### **MEMBERS EXCUSED:**

Rep. Kenneth Holmlund (R)

Sen. Tom Jacobson (D)

Rep. Jim Keane (D)

Rep. Emma Kerr-Carpenter (D)

Rep. Sharon Stewart Peregoy (D)

Rep. Jonathan Windy Boy (D)

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:** None

### **STAFF PRESENT:**

Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Analyst Julie Johnson, Attorney Kathy Sangray, Secretary

### **AGENDA (Attachment 1)**

#### **COMMITTEE ACTION**

#### **CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL**

14:03:40	Sen. Ryan Osmundson-R called the meeting to order at 2:03 PM. The committee secretary took roll.
14:05:27	Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD)
14:06:33	Rep. Bedey
14:06:55	Rep. Holmlund joined the meeting

### American Recovery Plan Act Interim Final Rule & HB 632 Analysis

14:07:24	Director Kurt Alme, Office of Budget and Program Planning (OBPP)
14:11:24	Vice Chair Caferro joined the meeting
14:24:32	Director Kurt Alme, OBPP (Exhibit 1)
14:32:35	Director Kurt Alme, OBPP (Exhibit 2)

# Analysis of the Interim Final Rule & HB 632

14:39:22	Amy Carlson, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD)
14:39:45	Quinn Holzer, LFD (Exhibit 3)
14:41:39	Joe Triem, LFD
14:44:23	Quinn Holzer, LFD
14:46:25	Sam Schaefer, LFD (Exhibit 4)
14:52:30	Quinn Holzer, LFD (Exhibit 5)

Committee E 14:53:50	<u>Discussion of Interim Final Rule</u> Rep. Jones
14:55:32	Rep. Bedey
14:59:00	Joe Triem, LFD
14:59:56	Amy Carlson, LFD
15:00:41	Rep. Holmlund
15:00:59	Joe Triem, LFD
15:01:38	Rep. Garner
15:01:56	Director Kurt Alme, OBPP
15:02:37	Rep. Garner
15:03:01	Director Kurt Alme, OBPP
15:03:34	Amy Sassano, OBPP
15:04:07	Rep. Bedey
15:04:50	Vice Chair Caferro
15:05:31	Chair Osmundson
Public Comr	ment_
15:05:57	Tim Burton, Montana League of Cities and Towns (MLCT)
15:07:46	Chair Osmundson
	nance of Equity Analysis
15:08:14	Amy Carlson, LFD
15:10:16	Julia Pattin, LFD (Exhibit 6)
15:25:47	Elsie Arntzen, Superintendent, Office of Public Instruction (OPI) (Exhibit 7) (Exhibit 8)
15:30:10	Mr. Taylor, OPI
15:31:15	Superintendent Elsie Arntzen, OPI (Exhibit 9)
15:33:12	Director Kurt Alme, OBPP
15:35:57	Rep. Jones
Public Comr	ment: None
15:38:47	Amy Carlson, LFD
15:39:03	Chair Osmundson
Drought Upo	date:
15:39:13	Ann Schwend, Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) (Exhibit 10)
15:54:00	Rep. Bartel
15:58:58	Director Mike Honeycutt, DNRC Department of Livestock
16:02:55	Chair Osmundson
16:03:35	<u>Motion:</u> Rep. Jones moved to prepare letter to Department of Treasury to be signed by Chair and Vice Chair.

16:04:22	Vice Chair Caferro
16:05:04	Chair Osmundson
16:05:04	Vote: Carried unanimously by voice vote.
16:05:30	Rep. Jones
16:06:00	Amy Carlson, LFD
16:06:30	Chair Osmundson

**Public Comment:** None

## Adjourn: 16:07:10